CDL Truck Drivers: A Guide


Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDL) are required for anyone who operates a commercial vehicle, including buses and tractor-trailers. This includes not just drivers but also their assistants and mechanics. In this article, let’s discuss the different types of CDLs.

A commercial driver’s license (CDL) is required to drive commercial vehicles in Tennessee, including tractor-trailers and semi-trucks. The CDL is a license that allows you to go to trucks and buses over a specific weight limit.

Although there are many CDL Truck Driver Positions in Tennessee, the most common job for truck drivers is driving long distances across state lines with cargo in their truck or trailer. Some examples of common cargo include food products like milk or ice cream, logs and lumber, or other types of goods people use daily, such as clothes or toys.

If you’ve ever driven a large truck or commercial vehicle, you should know that a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) is required to operate these vehicles. Most states, especially Tennessee, require drivers to have a CDL if they want to drive:

  • Large trucks and vehicles that weigh more than 26,000 pounds (including the weight of any cargo)
  • Large trucks and vehicles with hazardous materials
  • Large trucks and vehicles carrying hazardous materials in large quantities

Class A – 

A Class A CDL authorizes you to drive tractor-trailers, dump trucks and other large vehicles. This license is typically for drivers who haul larger amounts of cargo and more hazardous materials.

Class A licenses are the most common type of commercial driver’s license (CDL). They’re required if you want to drive a vehicle that weighs over 26,000 pounds or transports hazardous materials with a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 26,000 pounds. In addition, if you want to transport material on an interstate highway, you must also hold this class.

Class B – 

Class B – An individual who holds a Class B CDL can drive a truck with a cargo weight exceeding 26,000 pounds and tow a vehicle up to 10,000 pounds. This license does not allow individuals to transport hazardous materials in large quantities.

If you are planning to become a driver who transports goods that are more than 26,000 pounds or tow vehicles that weigh more than 10,000 pounds, you will need the right credentials for the job. A Class B CDL is designed for drivers to haul larger amounts of cargo and more hazardous materials.

Class C – 

With a Class C license, you can drive smaller commercial trucks such as delivery vans, passenger buses, and tow trailers under 10,000 pounds. This class also allows you to transport hazardous materials in smaller quantities. You must pass a written and driving test to receive this type of CDL.

If you’re interested in becoming an owner-operator or are required to have one to work for certain companies, then getting your Class C will be beneficial. A Class C CDL allows drivers like yourself to operate trucks with fewer restrictions than other types of commercial vehicles on the road today. For example: If you need to transport large amounts of cargo over long distances quickly but don’t want to invest heavily in machinery or equipment, having this license could allow you to access those kinds of opportunities without breaking the bank!


If you are looking for a career that will allow you to travel and work independently, becoming a CDL driver may be right for you, and there are various CDL Truck Driver Positions in Tennessee. The requirements to obtain a CDL vary from state to state. Still, they typically include passing written tests on topics such as vehicle safety, load securement and operations of large trucks. In addition to obtaining a license, some states also require driver’s training certification before they can operate vehicles on public roads.